Sponsored by


The W E Alexander Open is the Club’s annual prestige event which is contended by the state’s and district’s leading amateurs. The event is a State Vardon Event is named for Mr W E Alexander, a long-time distinguished President. Mr Alexander was President from 1927 to 1951.

Some of this country’s most outstanding golfers have competed in and won this tournament. They include: Peter O’Malley, Lucas Parsons, L Wooodward, Leigh McKechnie, Nathan Green and Col Johnston to name but a few.

Tournament History

The W E Alexander Open at Waratah Golf Club started as a 2 day 36 hole event in 1952 as a Pro Am contest for local club professionals and leading NSW amateurs.

It is named in honour of W E (Bill) Alexander, who served as WGC President from 1927 to 1951.

The first 3 winners were Bill Shephard in 1952, Sid Cowling in 1953 and Col Johnston in 1954. Col, former WGC junior and Pro Shop trainee, has been the champion on no less than 8 occasions.

From the early 1960’s until 1998 the Alexander Open was expanded to also include professionals from outside the local area. Many leading players were victorious over this period. Some noted winners were Ken Johnston, Ray Carlin, Len Woodward, Peter O’Malley, Lucas Parsons, Kurt Linde and Paul Sheehan. Former WGC juniors Leigh McKechnie (won 3 times) and Nathan Green (won 4 times) dominated the event from 1989 to 1998. Since 1999 the event has been a 54 hole contest, over 3 days, with the field being restricted to amateurs only. In 2009 the event reverted to a 36 hole format.


2017 Concept BSG W E Alexander Winner Blake Windred with WGC Patron Col Johnston. The Master and The Apprentice Col has won 8 and Blake 4. WEAs.

Previous Winners

Year Name Year Name Year Name
1952 W S Shephard 1977 C Johnston 2002 L Bates
1953 S Cowling 1978 B Boyle 2003 A McKenzie
1954 C Johnston 1979 B Boyle/G Tozer 2004 M Brown
1955 H C Pilcher 1980 R Carlin 2005 R Blizzard
1956 R Stockwell 1981 R Carlin 2006 R Blizzard
1957 C Johnston 1982 R Carlin 2007 G Scott
1958 B Baker 1983 C Parker 2008 B Smith
1959 C Johnston 1984 J Parker 2009 B Smith
1960 K Johnston 1985 P O’Malley 2010 B Smith
1961 C Johnston 1986 R Payne 2011 M Ellison
1962 C Johnston 1987 N Bell 2012 D Papadatos
1963 C Johnston 1988 P Payne 2013 B Windred
1964 K Hughes 1989 L McKechnie 2014 D Brandt‐Richards
1965 K Hughes 1990 L Parsons 2015 M Lister
1966 P Bennett 1991 L McKechnie 2016 B Windred
1967 F Belle 1992 L McKechnie 2017 B Windred
1968 T Mangan 1993 N Green 2018 B Windred
1969 T Mangan 1994 K Linde 2019 Corey Lamb
1970 K Johnston 1995 P Sheehan 2020 Luke Ferrier
1971 K Johnston/B Boyle 1996 N Green 2021 Luke Ferrier
1972 C Johnston/P Turner 1997 N Green 2022 Jake Riley
1973 L Woodward 1998 N Green 2023 Joshua Boaz
1974 P Mangelsdorf 1999 N Goodchild
1975 J Munro 2000 A Price
1976 L Oliver 2001 C Campbell